January 1, 2014

Image

Seems to me we were just celebrating the millennium weren’t we? The world was going to end. Now, what? seven or eight projected apocalypses later we find ourselves almost halfway through the second decade of the millennium. I actually managed to stay up until midnight this year, that was a feat (for more on that see my earlier blog post on my love of sleep here). Last year I believe I was in bed by 10pm and fast asleep. New Year’s Eve has never been a really big thing for me, not surprising given my dislike of having to stay awake late. If it was celebrated at say, 10am, I’d be all in for partying. Who am I kidding, I don’t like parties.

Last night as I was driving home from my mom’s house after a nice evening with friends and family my thoughts floated to thinking of the year ahead and the year we’ve just left behind. My thoughts were also turning to the fact that my toes were frozen (side effect to the glorious fact that the temperature was -19.5C (that’s -3F for all those of you still on that system). This holiday season has been unique thanks to Mother Nature’s desire to have a psychotic break over the Christmas season. Frigid temperatures, 44 hours straight of freezing rain, no power for many for multiple days, snowfall warning after snowfall warning. I may not survive this winter. I’m weary of it already and it only started less than 2 weeks ago. Tonight’s forecast is a balmy -27C (-17F) with a happy little wind chill of -37C (-35F). Nothing went according to plan this year, and it didn’t feel particularly festive, but it also wasn’t bad. Just kind of ‘meh’.

2013 was, thankfully, a pretty uneventful year all things considered. For that I am grateful. I’m happiest when I just get to mosey my way through life without any crazy events. Really helps the mental health. In summary, bought a house, enjoyed great time with family, went to Florida, took a cruise, passed my first year of my M.Sc.

2014 is a bit of an unknown – I don’t like uncertainty. I don’t make resolutions but if I was forced to I would say that my goal is to just try to live a bit more in the moment and try to wrack my brain less with worry of the unknowns in the future. My brain and I have been chatting about that, I haven’t sold it on the idea yet. Stubborn. We often don’t get along, I think that’s abundantly clear if you’ve been reading my blog all along. We’re a relationship in progress and I hope 2014 is the year we finally fine peace in dealing with each other. Thirty-third year’s the charm right?

Image

Leave a comment